Breaking Featured Featured General Politics

Edo State APC 2016 Primaries: Godwin Obaseki emerges party’s flag-bearer

Screen-Shot-2016-06-19-at-6.17.55-AM.png.pagespeed.ce.pRq0nkLFpj Godwin Obaseki on Sunday emerged the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the Sept. 10, 2016 election in Edo State.

Governor Aminu Masari of Katsina State, the leader of the party’s national delegation that conducted the primary election, announced the results in Benin, the state capital.

Mr. Masari said Mr. Obaseki scored 1,618 votes to defeat his 11 opponents.

He described the election as credible, fair and free and urged the losers and their supporters to close ranks ahead of the crucial governorship election in the state.

Other aspirants are Deputy Governor Pius Odubu, who polled 471 votes; former minister of state for works, Chris Ogiemwonyi, 137 votes; Ken Imasuagbon, 247 votes; a former governor of the state, Osariemen Osunbor, eight votes and Prof. Ebegue Amadasu, who also polled eight votes.

Similarly, Charles Airhiabvere, a retired major general, garnered 11 votes; Emmanuel Arigbe-Osula, 10 votes; Austin Emuan, seven votes; Blessing Agbomhere, fives votes, and the only female aspirant, Tina Agbarha, three votes.

Mr. Masari said 41 votes were invalid.

In his victory speech, Mr. Obaseki said his triumph was a collective one which required cooperation of all party members to succeed.

Leave a Comment