Breaking Celebrity Featured Featured General Politics

Meet the 6 Justices of the Supreme Court that Reinstated Sacked PDP Governors in Abia, Delta & Akwa Ibom

It was widely reported few days ago that the Supreme Court justices in their wisdom and in line with the extant law of the land, upheld not just one but of the three governors on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party.
Before their rulings, there were high level tensions in Rivers, Akwa Ibom and Abia states as the Appeal Court sacked Governors, Nyesom Wike, Emmanuel Udom and Okezie Ikpeazu from their positions and ordered for rerun poll.
Because the governors were not satisfied, they went to the apex court to regain their mandates which they eventually did amid wild celebrations from their supporters.
Though it was reported that the apex court did not give reasons for arriving at its judgments, but it promised that the court will provide detailed reasons on February 12.
As Nigerians wait anxiously for these details from the Supreme Court, we have compiled a list of the six justices that graced the court during the proceedings.
1. Justice Mahmud Mohammed GCON
Justice Mahmud Mohammed is the Chief Justice of Nigeria and one of the leading lights in the Judiciary. He is a nonsense man that worked tiredly to clean the bench of any form of rot and knows his onion in the legal profession.
He was appointed the acting chief judge of Taraba state in 1991 and later confirmed as the substantive chief judge of the state in the same year.
Justice Mohammed was later elevated as justice of the Supreme Court in 2005. In November 2014, the immediate past president Goodluck Jonathan appointed him as the Chief Justice of Nigeria.
2. Justice Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad CFR
Justice Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad was born on December 31, 1953 at Doguwa – Giade, Giade loacal government area of Bauchi State.
He studied at the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria for his Bachelor of Law degree (1980). He later got his LL.M (1984) and Ph.D in Law (1998) from the same University. He served at various level in the bench and  rose to become a justice of Court of Appeal between 1993 to 2006. He was elevated as the justice of the Supreme Court in 2006.
3.  Hon. Justice Suleiman Galadima CFR
Justice Suleiman Galadima was born on October in 1946 at Nasarawa State. He got his LLB in Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, and in 1977 got his BL (Hons) at the Nigerian Law School 1978, also his LLM in the University of Jos in 1985.
Justice Galadiman worked as a revenue/legal officer with Customs and excise in 1969, and as Assistant Legal Aid Leader NYSC Anambra satate: State Counsel Ministry of Justice, Law Review commission Secretary, Anambra State. He became the Magistrate in July, 1978 and in March 1990.
He appointed as justice of the Court of Appeal in December 9, 1998 and later elevated to the Supreme Court in 2010.
4.  Hon. Justice W.S. Nkanu Onnoghen CFR
Justice W.S. Nkanu Onnoghen was born on the December 22, 1950 at Okurike Town, Biase L.G.A. of Cross Rivers State. He attended the University of Ghana, Legon, Ghana between 1974 and 1977 to obtain his Bachelor of Law Degree (LL.B (Hons)) and graduated with 2nd Class Upper Division.
Justice Onnogehn was a pupil State Counsel, Ministry of Justice, Ikeja, Lagos, Ogun State between 1978 to 1979. He was apoointed as justice of the Court of Appeal between 1998 to 2005 and was elevated as Justice of the Supreme Court of Justice from 2005 till date.
5.  Hon. Justice Kudirat M.O Kekere-Ekun
Hon. Justice Kudirat Motonmori Olatokunbo Kekere-Ebun was born on the May 7, 1958. He obtained his LL.B in 1980 from the University of Lagos and a Master’s Degree in Law from the London School of Economic and Political Science in November 1983. Justice Kekere-Ebun  was called to the Nigerian Bar on 10th July 1981 and  rose from the post of Senior Magistrate Grade II with Lagos State Judiciary to this present position as a Justice of the Supreme Court of Nigeria
As a High Court Judge, his Lordship served as Chairman Robbery and Firearms Tribunal, Zone II, Ikeja from November 1996-May 1999. He also served as a member of the court of Appeal ICT Committee from June 2011-July 2013.
6. Hon. Justice Mary Ukaego Peter-Odili CFR
Hon. Justice Mary Ukaego Peter-Odili was born on the 12th May, 1952 at Amudi Obizi, Ezinitte – Mbaise L.G.A. of Imo State. She obatained Bachelor’s Degree in Law (LL.B (Hons)) in 1976 from e University of Nigeria, Nsukka (Enugu Campus).She attended the Nigerian Law School in 1977 for her B.L certificate.
Justice Peter-Odili rose to be justice of Court of Appeal in 2004  and was later elevated as a Jsutice of the Supreme Court on June 23, 2011.

Leave a Comment